View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:54 am

Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Beginner games (game 1) 
Pawn

Rating: 1000
Rating Class: Novice (<1200)
Post Beginner games (game 1)
Hi,

This is the first game I am posting here. I am quite new to chess started month and a half ago (am 25years old) however totally hooked to chess now. I am black in this game.

my comments on moves are as follows

8. Bxf6 Qa5+ {this was a bad move now I think, giving him a chance to develop his knight}

11. Nb5 O-O {I realized he was threatening Nc7+ winning the rook or Nxd6. I thought about Kd7 preventing both but realized Rd1 would make things very complicated so just castled hanging the pawn. Is there a better move?}

22. Nb7 h6 {I thought he wanted to exchange rooks by Rd8+ followed by Rxd8, Nxd8 threatening Nxe6. I also wanted to end any back rank tricks if possible and wanted to activate my king by moving out}

30. bxc5 Rb8 {This was a blunder, I didnt capture the pawn as I didnt want to exchage bishop with knight as my bishop was well placed but then I was too hasty here}

35. Nc5 * {we decided to draw it}

game pgn:

Hidden Text Below - [Show it] - [Hide it Again]

Kindly have a look

Regards

Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:48 pm
Rook

Rating: 1500
Rating Class: Class C (1400-1600)
Post Re: Beginner games (game 1)
I looked at all the points you mentioned, and then went through the game as a whole looking for some other areas you could improve on. Don't take any of this as criticism. I am in the same boat as you trying to improve and this is a good way of doing it so please keep positing your games.

8...Qa5+ I don't mind Qa5+ personally, white would probably play Nc3 anyway and a5 isn't a horrible square for the queen.
Maybe Better is just Bxf6 and now black has a fine position with two bishops.
Also it is dangerous for white to grab the pawn. Nc3 Bxf6 Qxd6 Be7 Qd2 Bg4. Black has much better development.