View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:50 am

Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Scalp! 
King

Rating: 1840
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Scalp!
Went down the chess club today - first time really since I've moved back home. Managed to get 1.5/2 against their strongest player (195 ECF, which is about 2210 ELO) in two 30 0 games.

Granted, neither game is particularly spectacular. I get the feeling I only managed to come out on top because he had no idea of my strength (perhaps thought I was a beginner) or because he was having an off day. I didn't feel like I was up against a 2200+ player, anyway.

The second game I probably could have pushed for an advantage but to be honest I didn't see a solid way to get through and I was scared of screwing up the endgame with the 3 on 2. I was happy to get a definite 1.5 rather than risk 1 all :)

The first game I really don't understand. Even I could see that the endgame after Qxe5 looks much better for white so I'm suprised he went for it. Perhaps he thought that I would pin the queen and go for that tactic which is probably better for white but maybe gives the chance for the stronger player to create an imbalance. That I turned this down and went for a small, stable advantage might have suprised him.

Anyway...a win is a win so I am happy :)

Last edited by FlintEastwood on Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:12 pm
Site Moderator
Site Moderator

Rating: 1698
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Scalp!
Congrats, Flint- I think you should be well pleased!

Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:38 pm
Profile WWW
King

Rating: 2200
Rating Class: National Master