View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:12 am



Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
HOWTO: Post your game replay 
Author Message
Founder
Founder

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 619
Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 1300
Rating Class: Class D (1200-1400)
Post HOWTO: Post your game replay
1. Visit http://www.chess-videos.com/chess-game-uploader.php

2. Copy/Paste your PGN file (Including the tags at the top if you want those to show up)

3. Click "Convert!"

4. On the next page you will see some code to copy/paste into the forums. It should look like [replayer:<your game id>]. Just put that piece of code into your post and the game replay will show up!

Important:
Game replays and the [replayer] tag ONLY work in this forum.


Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:29 pm
Profile
Knight

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:39 am
Posts: 95
Location: London, UK
Rating Class: Class C (1400-1600)
Post 
How do you delete the conversions?

_________________
|
Perfecting The Imperfect Perfectionist


Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:47 am
Profile
Founder
Founder

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:01 pm
Posts: 619
Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 1300
Rating Class: Class D (1200-1400)
Post 
Just email me at admin@chess-videos.com for any sort of advanced help.


Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:10 pm
Profile
Pawn

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:30 pm
Posts: 15
Post 
How do you signify castling? 0-0 doesn't seem to register.


Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:24 am
Profile
Founder
Founder

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:17 pm
Posts: 4712
Rating: 2073 USCF
Rating Class: Expert (2000-2200)
Post 
MasterLardo,

The convention for PGN is that castling is written using uppercase 'O's so castling is O-O. Let me know if that works.

_________________
FIDE 2118, USCF 2073.


Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:28 am
Profile ICQ
Pawn

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 3:52 pm
Posts: 1
Post 
I'm totally new to handling ".pgn" filetypes. How do I take a simple text game and make it into a .pgn file. I have many OTB games I wish to convert but have no idea how to do it...

Is there a downloadable helper anywhere??? I'm quite computer savey, just no idea where to begin with this.

TIA

Ken


Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:02 pm
Profile ICQ
Founder
Founder

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:17 pm
Posts: 4712
Rating: 2073 USCF
Rating Class: Expert (2000-2200)
Post 
Welcome to the forums, texasken7 :)

Perhaps this will help. It's a tutorial on PGN. Let me know if that helps.

_________________
FIDE 2118, USCF 2073.


Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:06 pm
Profile ICQ
Champion

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:18 am
Posts: 418
Location: Teksaz
Post 
thats alot to read :( maybe its easier to just play through the games in a program like, FICS editing mode or chessmaster. Save it to a PGN and opening the PGN in notepad or something, then paste it into the game replayer

_________________
Click here to find out the secret to Chess!

Kidding, its not even clickable


Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:10 pm
Profile ICQ
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:45 pm
Posts: 1642
Location: Red Bluff, CA
Rating: 1600
Rating Class: Class C (1400-1600)
Post 
Babaschess will copy to clipboard in pgn format and all you have to do is paste it in there. (It's under the Edit option) That's how I always do it. (It will also copy FEN positions which work great for the diagram generator.

_________________
"... the French wages outright warfare over the entire board, calls for stronger nerves, and demands a soul that finds joy whenever the lust for battle is stoked. In other words, Watson is right: it’s a damn good opening!" - Jeremy Silman


Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:05 pm
Profile
Knight

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 62
Location: Wynne, Arkansas USA
Post 
How do you post a diagram of a particular position within a game posted on the replayer?

_________________
Bobby Fischer said it best, "Chess is life." And it is a wonderful life.


Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:29 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Fearless Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:07 am
Posts: 837
Location: Florida
Post 
petrovitch wrote:
How do you post a diagram of a particular position within a game posted on the replayer?


http://www.chessvideos.tv/chess-diagram-generator.php

_________________
Sir, you are like a pin, but without either its head or its point.
-- Douglas Jerrold


Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:49 pm
Profile YIM
Founder
Founder

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:17 pm
Posts: 4712
Rating: 2073 USCF
Rating Class: Expert (2000-2200)
Post 
Also, there's a link at the bottom of the replayer window so that you can copy a current position to the diagram generator.

_________________
FIDE 2118, USCF 2073.


Thu Oct 04, 2007 6:01 pm
Profile ICQ
Pawn

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 10
Location: Fågelsången
Post 
Folks, I just tried the Game Replay feature (Loved it!). Is there anyway to edit a converted *.pgn-file??

Also, will the Replayer hadle comments in a neat way?


Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:17 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Pawn

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:00 am
Posts: 10
Location: Fågelsången
Post 
I just tried to convert a *.pgn file containing comments and variants. It did not work very well. The Game Replayer seems to ignore everything between 1. e4 and .... 0-1.



Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:07 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Premium Member
Premium Member

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:05 pm
Posts: 889
Rating Class: Class D (1200-1400)
Post Re: HOWTO: Post your game replay
.

_________________
The Only Winning Move is NOT to PLAY!


Last edited by KingsBlade on Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:15 am, edited 2 times in total.



Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:34 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF