View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:16 am

Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Snits' Training Journal 
Knight

Rating: 1441
Rating Class: Class C (1400-1600)
Post Snits' Training Journal
I enjoy watching the videos on this site, so I thought I'd track my training here along with everyone else.

A little history:

I started playing rated over the board chess back in January 2007, about 3 weeks prior to fellow Phoenix player
and chessvideos.tv user Stockton. Unfortunately I started this at the age of 35, but better late than never right?

After a wonderful start of 0-9 and a rating of around 480, I slowly started to work my way up. I ended last year with a rating of 1219. After taking most of January off for a wedding and honeymoon, I have gone from 1219 to a high of 1508 so far this year.

These days I play over the board at least once a week (usually twice) at our local club.

Most of my study time has been spent on tactics, and playing over annotated games. I have spent very little time on openings so far. I try to get in as much studying as possible during the week, but also have a job and wife so time spent varies.