View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:12 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Uploading takes ages. 
Author Message
Knight

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:02 am
Posts: 53
Rating: 1800
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Uploading takes ages.
I just made an account an downloaded the Chessvideo.TV Uploader 0.7.0 .. I browsed an .avi file and it says that it is uploading, I left my home for about 5 hours .. and then when I can back it still said UPLOADING :O this cannot be possible can it? File size is 2,0 GB, but still .. on youtube it was done within 45 minutes.

Thanks in advance


Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:32 pm
Profile
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:21 am
Posts: 1200
Location: Iceland
Rating: 2330
Rating Class: FIDE Master
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
Filesize 2 GB wtf....are you solving the Najdorf?

_________________
Visit me on zibbit64.blogspot.com


Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:45 pm
Profile WWW
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:31 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Germany
Rating: Over 9000
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
lol....yea, had to read it twice, too. Couldn't believe I read 2GB. I am curious about this vid now :D

Zibbit wrote:
Filesize 2 GB wtf....are you solving the Najdorf?

_________________
Greetings from northern Germany!
PM me for Facebook :)


Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:51 pm
Profile ICQ
Knight

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:02 am
Posts: 53
Rating: 1800
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
gentlewhisper wrote:
lol....yea, had to read it twice, too. Couldn't believe I read 2GB. I am curious about this vid now :D

Zibbit wrote:
Filesize 2 GB wtf....are you solving the Najdorf?


Yeah I want to ask about that too :P the vid is 17 min , and I use Hypercam 2 .. its just an .avi file, why is it so large?


Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:18 pm
Profile
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:21 am
Posts: 1200
Location: Iceland
Rating: 2330
Rating Class: FIDE Master
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
You are doing something wrong, the file is waaaaaaaay too large!

_________________
Visit me on zibbit64.blogspot.com


Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:58 pm
Profile WWW
Knight

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:02 am
Posts: 53
Rating: 1800
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
Zibbit wrote:
You are doing something wrong, the file is waaaaaaaay too large!


is it the program or what .. ? im doing everything fine


Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:21 pm
Profile
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:21 am
Posts: 1200
Location: Iceland
Rating: 2330
Rating Class: FIDE Master
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
GambitPlayer wrote:
Zibbit wrote:
You are doing something wrong, the file is waaaaaaaay too large!


is it the program or what .. ? im doing everything fine


No offence but you are not doing everything fine if a 17 minute video is 2GB. For instance I made a 40 min video that was 51MB.

Must be some setting in the recording program, or try another one, Windows Media Encoder or something.

_________________
Visit me on zibbit64.blogspot.com


Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:25 pm
Profile WWW
Knight

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:02 am
Posts: 53
Rating: 1800
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
Zibbit wrote:
GambitPlayer wrote:
Zibbit wrote:
You are doing something wrong, the file is waaaaaaaay too large!


is it the program or what .. ? im doing everything fine


No offence but you are not doing everything fine if a 17 minute video is 2GB. For instance I made a 40 min video that was 51MB.

Must be some setting in the recording program, or try another one, Windows Media Encoder or something.


Yeah true it is huge, a whole chessbase DVD is 2GB :P so ill try another one, thanks anyway


Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:34 pm
Profile
Premium Member
Premium Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:31 am
Posts: 1636
Location: Germany
Rating: Over 9000
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
Probably it's the program. Don't know hypercam 2 but it could be that you record in a much too high resolution/quality.
CV.TV will convert it to 640x480 flv anyway =D

But I go with Zibbit and recommend WindowsMediaEncoder :D

_________________
Greetings from northern Germany!
PM me for Facebook :)


Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:47 pm
Profile ICQ
Founder
Founder

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:17 pm
Posts: 4712
Rating: 2073 USCF
Rating Class: Expert (2000-2200)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
holy mackerel, that's huge. Our back-end might not handle something that big too efficiently. Is it up?

_________________
FIDE 2118, USCF 2073.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:02 pm
Profile ICQ
Knight

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:02 am
Posts: 53
Rating: 1800
Rating Class: Class A (1800-2000)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
@Gentlewhisper thanks alot! I will try it out :D

@JoshSpecht .. it will be up tomorrow, in Holland it is now 1 @ night so Im going to get some sleep. tomorrow Ill record it with WindowsMediaEncoder .. It will be a nice vid. about Sicilian Najdorf Bg5 line. For the white side and some surprise to use there. Check it out tomorrow! Thanks all


Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:47 pm
Profile
King

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:22 am
Posts: 329
Location: United Stated
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
i use windows media encorder, it only takes about 35kb space for every 30 minutes, and takes much much much less thime to upload it (my computer takes about 2 minutes for a 10 minute vid), and the quality is very good.

anyway, i think 2GB was probably toooooooo big .... just couldn't believe it, i would have to record for 3.9k hours to do a vid using WME with high quality... i would be happy if i can finish recording it before i become a expert in chess.

my recommendation is try Window's Media Encorder first, and see what happens, if it doesn't work... you gotta try something better. :D

_________________
i will beat you... if you don't beat me.


Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:30 pm
Profile
King

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:22 am
Posts: 329
Location: United Stated
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
i use windows media encorder, it only takes about 35kb space for every 30 minutes, and takes much much much less time to upload it (my computer takes about 2 minutes for a 10 minute vid), and the quality is very good.

anyway, i think 2GB was probably toooooooo big .... just couldn't believe it, i would have to record for 3.9k hours to do a vid using WME with high quality... i would be happy if i can finish recording it before i become a expert in chess.

my recommendation is try Window's Media Encorder first, and see what happens, if it doesn't work... you gotta try something better. :D

_________________
i will beat you... if you don't beat me.


Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:30 pm
Profile
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:39 pm
Posts: 2856
Location: Maryland, USA
Rating: 1698
Rating Class: Class B (1600-1800)
Post Re: Uploading takes ages.
avi files are natively large- use another format or convert it before uploading. I use quicktime with h.264 and it is reasonably small

_________________
illigetimi non carborundum.


Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:15 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF